“A View from the States: Governors Respond to the Omicron Variant.”

Thursday, January 20, 2022 - 3:00pm
Select one, Washington, DC 20515
“A View from the States: Governors Respond to the Omicron Variant.”

On Thursday, January 20, 2022 at 3:00 p.m. ET, the Select Subcommittee on the Coronavirus Crisis, chaired by Rep. James E. Clyburn, will hold a remote hearing with the Governors of Washington, Colorado, and Puerto Rico, as well as the Mayor of the District of Columbia, to examine how states, territories, and the District of Columbia are responding to the spread of the highly transmissible Omicron variant. 

The Omicron variant is creating new challenges for governments at every level in the ongoing response to the coronavirus pandemic.  These challenges have been heightened by a continuous flood of misinformation about and partisan opposition to proven mitigation measures, particularly vaccination efforts, which are essential to reducing the threat.

Through critical resources provided by the American Rescue Plan and other coronavirus relief programs, federal, state, and local governments have supplied essential relief to American families and communities amid the pandemic, helped get millions vaccinated, and saved lives. The Biden Administration is also working quickly to adapt to the challenges posed by the Omicron variant and support state and local governments in real time.

As the Omicron wave continues, lawmakers at all levels of government must continue to collaborate to ensure that even more Americans get vaccinated, tested, and treated effectively, efficiently, and equitably.  During the hearing, witnesses will discuss this collaboration and specify what actions can be taken to slow the spread of the virus, keep people out of the hospital, and how vaccines and boosters remain critical tools to allowing all Americans to live their daily lives with minimal risk to themselves and their communities.


The Honorable Muriel Bowser
Mayor of the District of Columbia

The Honorable Jay Inslee
Governor of the State of Washington

The Honorable Pedro Pierluisi
Governor of the Commonwealth of Puerto Rico

The Honorable Jared Polis
Governor of the State of Colorado

The Honorable Pete Ricketts
Governor of the State of Nebraska

117th Congress